What if I walked with a really cool cane


If I used a cool looking cane, would people just grab it from me in order to get a better look? Would they even point to it and say, “May I?” And when walking in the mall, would people stare and say loudly, “Wow, look at that cane!” or make some disparaging comment like, “Is that a cane or a totem pole?”

I don’t think so!

Yet, people do act that way about Denim. I realize that my Ataxia is not really obvious, unless I’m walking, but would you assume that a person walking with a “cool cane” didn’t really NEED it? When I am using her to help me stand, and someone asks if they can pet her, that puts me in a weird spot. Think of her as a really cool cane (but so much better)!  I traded my cane for a Dane!!

0001xU

One thought on “What if I walked with a really cool cane

  1. I know people have no idea of how much pain, weakness, and being how tired I feel when I’m out like at church for example. It’s like a silent illness to a point. I try not to appear sick but there’s times I can’t disguise it. And I’m only talking about my chronic migraine problem. I figure out solutions to whatever problem, but it takes awhile. I miss you very much and I pray things get easier for you in whatever way that’s alright with God. Michelle Z.

    Like

Leave a Reply

