Update

First of all, I want to apologize for having stayed away for so long.  I also want to wish all of you a good year ahead. I really like this sentiment, written by Janet Rebhan:

In this new year, may you have a deep understanding of your                                                                                                         true value and worth,                                                                                                                                                                                  an absolute faith in your unlimited potential,                                                                                                                                        peace of mind in the midst of uncertainty,                                                                                                                                            the confidence to let go when you need to,                                                                                                                                     acceptance to replace your resistance,                                                                                                                                          gratitude to open your heart,                                                                                                                                                                   the strength to meet your challenges,                                                                                                                                                   great love to replace your fear,                                                                                                                                                  forgiveness and compassion for those who offend you,                                                                                                                      clear sight to see your best and true path,                                                                                                                                           hope to dispel obscurity,                                                                                                                                                                           the conviction to make your dreams come true,                                                                                                                         meaningful and rewarding synchronicities,                                                                                                                                        dear friends who truly know and love you,                                                                                                                                               a childlike trust in the benevolence of the universe,                                                                                                                                 the humility to remain teachable,                                                                                                                                                          the wisdom to fully embrace your life exactly as it is,                                                                                                                          the understanding that every soul has its own course to follow,                                                                                                           the discernment to recognize your own unique inner voice of truth,                                                                                                      and the courage to learn to be still. 

As an update on the support group situation: Once new support groups formed in the area, the Boston group had dwindled to a mere handful of meeting attendees after seeing over 25 people at each meeting. Having stepped down as leader, and since there is nothing yet scheduled in the Boston area, I have been attending meetings with the New Hampshire group. I do feel that attending a support group where one can openly discuss their accomplishments and concerns is very important. Not that Ataxia is something I would want to wish on anyone, it is nice to see others dealing with similar issues as yourself.  The New Hampshire group’s next meeting is January 23rd from 10 to 12.  If you are interested in joining us, contact Jill. Her contact info is in the side bar of this blog.

Also, on the 2nd Sunday of each month, I have what is called a “coffee club” (we don’t necessarily drink coffee) meeting at 1:00.   These are informal get-togethers that anyone is welcomed to. We meet in the comfortable seating area of the food court on the “Au Bon Pain” side in the North Shore Mall in Peabody, Mass.  If you are interested in joining us, send me your e-mail address and I’ll be sure to add you to my list.

Now, under the topic of Ataxia, I do have to admit that my symptoms have been getting worse.  However, I can’t say enough about my wonderful service dog, Denim.   She is always there for me.  I can now walk looking around, instead of only at my feet.  So much that was once off-limits has become so very possible.  For instance, I can now attempt those steps that have no railing, or walk up that steep hill to see what’s on the other side… I have decided that while I am still capable, I am going to take a so-called “sabbatical” for a couple months this summer. I am going to stay in a house in western Mass by myself with just Denim by my side (and friends just 10 minutes up the road).  I know I’ll be able to do this with Denim by my side.

I know that I have said this before but the Great Danes from Service Dog Project, in Ipswich Mass, are absolutely fantastic!  For those of you with Ataxia and living in the north eastern corner of the country, I highly recommend you look into this place: http://www.servicedogproject.org/

2 thoughts on “Update

    • I need to prove to myself that I can do this. I need to spend time with myself and what better place than out in that part of the state and close to my friend, Cherryl. It’s also only 2 1/2 hours from home.

      Like

Leave a Reply

