Word of the Day – defenestrate

IMG_1706Today’s word is defenestrate .  This verb literally means to throw something out the window.

This reminded me of that fact the we need to “throw preconceived notions about disabilities, out the window.”  Oh yes, things are different than they were but the stuff we used to enjoy can still be within the realm of possibilities, just different.  Some of us can successfully counteract our own preconceived notions of our abilities but our bigger concern is the preconceived notions of those around us.  My motto is to accept help when I need it, but if I can, then just do it!  I don’t want to feed into others’ notions that I can’t do it by myself.  I realize I sound like a stubborn 2-year-old but sometimes a little tenacity is required.

Beside, we need to open the windows to let the fresh air in and and the stale air out.

Leave a Reply

