Some Recent Words of Day

thThe first word, maudlin, of several words of the past few days, describes someone who is very emotional.  I don’t know if it’s due to the Ataxia, but I can be extremely emotional at times. There are times that everything can strike me as being so sad and other things things strike me as hysterical and I get a serious case of the giggles.

0001zwAnother word that I recently read about (made me giggle) was piffle. This word refers to nonsense talk.  Sometimes, with this Ataxia, my speech can be so slurred that someone listening may thing I’m talking nonsense!

thAnother word that caught my eye is moppet, which refers to a young child.  This mad me think of an episode I once saw of The Waltons. In that show, the mother became ill and could no longer walk.  Then when she could walk again, it was very difficult. I always thought that the way she walked in that show reminded me of someone walking with Ataxia.  Her comment was so appropriate, “Just as well as any 1-year-old toddler in the county.”

sunriseLastly, today’s word is diurnal.  This is the opposite of nocturnal and describes something that pertains to the daytime. This word reminded me of the fact that I am much more capable in the morning hours.  By the evening, my Ataxia becomes much more pronounced.  I now won’t drive in the dark at all!

Leave a Reply

