Word of the Day – panoply

Today’s word is panoply .  This a wide-ranging display, like a fanfare.

This made me think of the phrase “to the nines”.  I read several descriptions of possible origins of this phrase but one said that it had to do with women’s gloves that they wore when they went to fancy events and that those gloves had nine buttons so those occasions called for them to “dress to the nines.”  Just imagine an Ataxian buttoning up a glove!  Nine buttons, no less!

AAAADFtYVxcAAAAAAJEwggThis reminded me of an article I once wrote: “My Flannel Shirt” – https://ataxiama.wordpress.com/2014/12/07/my-flannel-shirt/; …Putting on one of my favorite shirts this morning, I was reminded of this debate.  That shirt was a chore to put on!  It was all buttons!  I have to admit that occasionally frustration gets to me and I just want to throw all those shirts with buttons away.  But isn’t it sometimes worth the struggle?   I just need to remind myself of the price I have to ‘pay’? A little extra time to get ready in the morning?  A pretty small price to pay, in my opinion.  For instance, if I never make the effort to do all those buttons, could I lose that ability?  Maybe ‘practice’ may never make ‘perfect’ but maybe, in this case, ‘practice’ can keep things in the ‘realm of possibility’.

Where do we draw the line between ‘worth the effort’ and ‘foolish’?  In my opinion, trying is a good thing but sometimes we just need to admit we need help.  On the other hand, button-fly jeans would be ‘just plain stupid’!

 
Leave a Reply

