Sunshine and Chaos’s Sunday Quotes – Acceptance

Today’s quotes, https://sunshineandchaos.wordpress.com/2015/03/15/sunday-quotes-acceptance/, are about acceptance.  The one that rang true for me was by J.K. Rowling: “Understanding is the first step to acceptance, and only with acceptance can there be recovery.” 

I believe a big part of being able to cope with Ataxia is being able to accept it.  I believe that Ataxia, yes, is a crummy diagnosis, and being progressive, makes for a rather questionable future.  However, I think we need to take it on now and see what can be done in the present moment.  It reminds of something from when I was a kid.  I always looked younger than I really was.  In response to peoples’ comments that I would be happy about that when I was 40, I would say, “But what about NOW!”

Leave a Reply

