Word of the Day – Magniloquent

Today’s word is magniloquent.  This word describes using a grandiose way of speaking.

My speech is far from being eloquent.  When I first saw a doctor about the Ataxia, I was surprised to see in the doctor’s notes, “exhibits mild dysarthria.”  I had to look that one up.  Dysarthria is a  disorder of articulation.  Wow, I hadn’t realized that.  As I thought about it, however, I realized I could no longer sing stuff like “la, la, la, la.”  The lack of that skill is not a catastrophe, however, the fact that I have a hard time clearly saying something when I’m nervous, is. The thing I’ve learned, is to slow down when I speak.

Leave a Reply

