Word of the Day – Phillumenist

13451matchesToday’s word is phillumenist.  This word apparently refers to a collector of matchbooks and matchboxes. The reason I am disappointed in this definition is because I so enjoyed the definition my dictionary application mistakenly showed at first: SDC10192a tightrope walker. I thought this definition was quite amusing as a 4-foot wide plank through a marsh is a ‘tightrope’ to an Ataxian!  Several years ago, I walked this boardwalk on the Cape with my husband. It was en extremely harrowing experience as I held onto him for dear life!  However, when I looked further into this word, EVERY site referred to the “matches” thing.

One thought on “Word of the Day – Phillumenist

  1. Pingback: Word of the Day – funambulist | Ataxia Support

Leave a Reply

