“Thank you for changing my life”

10550092_905498666134389_2806223816839819327_oIn response to a daily prompt from WordPress, I looked at page 82 of the nearest book, “What the Dog Saw” by Malcolm Gladwell.  I was told to read the third sentence, hmmm… “Thank you for changing my life,”… Ya, Ataxia has changed my life.  Am I thankful? As I sat in my favorite chair exhausted and panting after just folding one load of laundry, I thought about it.  OK, if I didn’t have Ataxia and took breaks after every little chore, I might be considered a lazy bum.  But I’m allowed down-time without the fear of being judged.  For that, I’m thankful.

If I didn’t have Ataxia, I would know nothing about Ataxia.  I quiver to think of all the people I never would have met, the friends I most likely never would have made. For that I am thankful.

When I go for a hike in the woods, I notice much more when my Ataxia makes me slow down or sit for a while. For that I am thankful.

Oh, and let’s not forget my beautiful service dog, Denim.  To be honest I never before would have considered owning a great dane.  If not for Ataxia, I would have missed this wonderful experience. For that I am thankful.

Yes, I could go on and on, but the point is I have Ataxia, so what benefit is there in lamenting my situation?  True, at times, I feel very down and short-changed in life.  But what good is that?  The Ataxia isn’t going away so I therefore need to embrace it.  I’ve always loved a challenge (in the 4th grade, I made it my mission to find out why long division worked the way it did) so yes, I am thankful.

One thought on ““Thank you for changing my life”

  1. You are my kind of person. Donna! Choose to see the good/positive instead of dwelling on the negative and the things we can’t do a darn thing about. You’ve found such creative ways to deal with your ataxia. You are a wonderful role model for your children, your friends, and all those with ataxia and other unfortunate circumstances.

    Like

Leave a Reply

