I Did NOT Quit!

Sorry, bit of a rant here.  I am very tired of the implication that I QUIT my job!  I did not voluntarily quit!  My doctor at the time, back in April 2000,  recommended that I stop working as my symptoms were progressing and I was getting too tired.  Sure, I had to convince myself that I was lucky to be able to spend so much time with my small children but I always found it rather insulting when a non-disabled person would say, “oh, your SO lucky!”  Oh really?  You want my Ataxia?  It kinda goes with the territory.

Then at this time of year, I get, “it must be so nice to not have to work.  You can easily get all your holiday shopping and decorating done.  Oh really?  I surely must keep that in mind as I sit here typing this and catching my breath after doing a couple errands!

I don’t work for a reason.  I never hear people who retire be a accused of “quitting” their job.  It is understood that they are stopping work as their circumstances have changed making it not practical to continue.  Hmmm, isn’t that what I did?

Yes, I believe in making the best of it, because this is the hand I’ve been dealt. But please don’t belittle it by telling me how lucky I am compared to you if you are not disabled.  Please be aware of what you are doing when you complain incessantly about your job.  To be honest, I think I’d take the cantankerous colleague over the Ataxia.  You wouldn’t complain to a person with no arms, that your arm was sore.  Would you?

Again, sorry for the rant.  Just don’t judge me because my Christmas tree is not up yet!

One thought on “I Did NOT Quit!

Leave a Reply

